ListedMainboardBook builtNSEBSE

Behari Lal Engineering IPO

₹285.00Issue price

Listed on 19 August 2026 at an issue price of ₹285.00.

Subscription and grey market figures refresh on a 30-minute cycle. Last synced 15 September 2026. They are not a live tick-by-tick feed, so a bidding day can move between refreshes. Confirm current numbers on the exchange websites before you apply.

Issue size
₹301.62 Cr
Lot size
52 shares
Minimum investment
₹14,820.00
Face value
₹10.00
Fresh issue
₹93.00 Cr
Offer for sale
₹208.62 Cr
Exchanges
NSE and BSE
Bidding dates
12 August 2026 to 14 August 2026

Listed on the exchange

Behari Lal Engineering priced its issue at ₹285.00 and began trading on 19 August 2026.

The dates that matter

An Indian IPO runs on a fixed calendar. Bidding stays open for three working days, the allotment is finalised the next working day, and the shares begin trading the day after that.

    Issue dates

  1. Anchor investor biddingCompleted

    11 August 2026

    One day before the public window, for institutional anchors.

  2. Bidding opensCompleted

    12 August 2026

  3. Bidding closesCompleted

    14 August 2026

  4. Basis of allotmentCompleted

    17 August 2026

  5. Refunds initiatedCompleted

    18 August 2026

  6. Shares credited to DematCompleted

    18 August 2026

  7. Listing on the exchangeCompleted

    19 August 2026

Grey market premium

Grey market premium is the price traders quote among themselves for shares that have not listed yet. Below is the full day-by-day record we hold for this issue, not only the latest figure, because the movement across the bidding window says more than any single day does.

749010712313913 Aug19 Aug
Grey market premium per share over 7 recorded days. Hover or use the arrow keys to read any day.
Grey market premium history for Behari Lal Engineering
DatePremium per share
2026-08-1380
2026-08-1483
2026-08-1583
2026-08-1684
2026-08-17105
2026-08-18133
2026-08-19133
Day by day, 7 records
DatePremium per shareImplied listing priceImplied gain
19 August 2026₹133.00₹418.0046.67%
18 August 2026₹133.00₹418.0046.67%
17 August 2026₹105.00₹390.0036.84%
16 August 2026₹84.00₹369.0029.47%
15 August 2026₹83.00₹368.0029.12%
14 August 2026₹83.00₹368.0029.12%
13 August 2026₹80.00₹365.0028.07%

About Behari Lal Engineering

Behari Lal Engineering Ltd. makes iron and steel products for heavy industry. The company runs two plants in Mandi Gobindgarh, Punjab, covering about 790,000 square feet. Combined installed capacity is 119,464 metric tonnes: 54,464 MT of finished steel processing and 65,000 MT of rolling mill capacity. It sells metal rolls, engineering castings, alloy steel bars, and forging ingots and shafts. Castings range from 500 kg to 20 MT. Bars come in rounds, flats, hexagons and round-corner squares from 6 mm to 230 mm. Buyers sit in steel, mining, power, sugar, infrastructure and heavy engineering. As of 31 March 2026 the company had served 1,825 domestic and international customers, including Shyam Metalics and Energy, Jai Balaji Industries, MSP Steel & Power, BMW Industries and Metso India. It employed 774 people as of 31 August 2025. The order book stood at INR 1,785.69 million on 31 May 2026.

Promoters

  • Parkash Chand Garg
  • Rajesh Garg
  • Dinesh Garg
  • Lovlish Garg
  • Bhuvnesh Garg

Financial highlights

The last three fiscal years as the offer document states them. Reading across a row shows whether the figure has grown, which is why the years run left to right.

Metric (₹ crore)Mar 2024Mar 2025Mar 2026
Assets262.08295.98367.87
Total Income449.96516.30546.52
Profit After Tax35.7952.9564.64
EBITDA60.9981.31101.32
NET Worth193.66241.62306.10
Reserves and Surplus186.13233.81267.06
Total Borrowing41.217.5817.78

Figures are in ₹ crore and reproduced from the offer document, covering Mar 2024 to Mar 2026. A dash means the document does not state that figure for that period. A fiscal year ending March is labelled by its closing month, and where the document states a figure on a different basis the label here follows the document rather than normalising it.

Key ratios

Valuation and return ratios calculated from the issuer's financials. These are the figures the issue price is usually judged against, and the offer document carries the working behind each one.

RatioValueWhat it measures
Earnings per share₹16.56Profit after tax divided by the number of shares.
P/E at the cap price17.21xIssue price divided by earnings per share. Lower is cheaper, but only against the same industry.
P/E after the issue18.65xThe same ratio recalculated on the larger post-issue share count.
Price to book3.63xIssue price against net assets per share.
Net asset value per share₹78.41What the company owns, less what it owes, per share.
Return on equity23.60%Profit earned on shareholders’ money.
Return on capital employed27.11%Profit earned on all the capital in the business, including debt.
Return on net worth21.12%The offer document’s own name for return on shareholders’ funds.
Debt to equity0.06xBorrowings against shareholders’ funds. Higher means more leverage.
Profit margin12.10%Profit after tax as a share of income.
Operating margin18.97%Operating profit as a share of income, before interest, tax and depreciation.
Market capitalisation₹1,205.62 CrValue of the company at the issue price.

Ratios are stated as published. A ratio that is absent here was not stated in the document, and is not the same as a ratio of zero.

What the money is for

Every issue states its objects in the offer document. These are reproduced from it, largest first, so you can see where most of the raise is going.

  • purchase and installation of new equipment / machinery along with civil work for such installation at Manufacturing Facility 2

    ₹36.65 Cr

  • Issue Expenses

    ₹31.97 Cr

  • Funding capital expenditure requirement for purchase and installation of new equipment / machinery (including computers, printers and computer peripherals) along with civil work for such installation at Manufacturing Facility 1

    ₹19.59 Cr

  • General Corporate Purposes

    ₹19.06 Cr

  • purchase and installation of new roof-top solar panels at Manufacturing Facility 1

    ₹3.40 Cr

  • purchase and installation of new roof-top solar panels at Manufacturing Facility 2

    ₹3.40 Cr

  • Repayment and/ or pre-payment, in full or part, of certain borrowings availed by the Company

    ₹0.57 Cr

Peer comparison

The offer document compares the issuer against listed companies in the same business, on earnings, book value and return on net worth. Behari Lal Engineering is the first row.

Peer comparison from the offer document. Behari Lal Engineering is the first row.
CompanyEPS (₹)P/ENAV per share (₹)RoNW
Behari Lal Engineering Ltd.This issue16.56₹78.4121.12%
AIA Engineering Ltd.136.1134.43₹859.9815.53%
IFGL Refractories Ltd.4.8143.46₹163.007.93%
Jayaswal Neco Industries Ltd.4.7718.48₹29.2616.39%
Kennametal India Ltd.46.8262.02₹340.0213.70%
RHI Magnesita India Ltd.-18.54₹172.42-10.81%
Steelcast Ltd.8.5837.99₹39.0321.89%
Vardhman Special Steel Ltd.13.1523.19₹132.119.59%

Reproduced from the peer comparison in the offer document. A dash means the document does not state that figure for that company. It is absent, not zero. Ratios are reported on the basis named in the document, which is not always the same period for every company.

Who gets what share

SEBI fixes how much of a book-built issue each investor category can be allotted. This is the split for this issue as stated in the offer document.

Reservation by investor category
CategoryShare of issueAmount
Retail individual investors35.00%₹105.57 Cr
Qualified institutional buyers20.00%₹60.32 Cr
Non-institutional (bids above ₹10 lakh)10.00%₹30.16 Cr
Non-institutional (bids up to ₹10 lakh)5.00%₹15.08 Cr

Percentages are reproduced as text from the offer document. A dash means the document does not state an amount for that category. Categories are labelled using the document's own terms, which differ slightly between issues.

Questions people ask

One lot is 52 shares, and the block is calculated at the top of the price band, ₹285.00. That comes to ₹14,820.00 held in your bank account until the allotment is finalised. If you are not allotted, the block is released and the money never leaves your account.

Bidding runs from 12 August 2026 to 14 August 2026. Applications can be revised or withdrawn while bidding is open. Once it closes, the registrar finalises the basis of allotment the next working day and shares are credited the day after.

The most recent recorded premium is ₹133.00 per share, against ₹80.00 when recording began on 13 August 2026. The movement across those days says more than either number on its own.

Retail applications run from 1 lot to 13 lots. The retail category caps an application at ₹2,00,000, so the upper limit is whichever comes first: the lot ceiling or the value ceiling.

We hold the issue price of ₹285.00 and the listing date of 19 August 2026, but our data source does not publish the listing-day open, close or gain, so we cannot state the listing price. The exchange page for this scrip carries the traded price.

Sources